Blog Post 1

The non-designer’s design book:Chapters one through six


Reading from the first block of chapters in The Non-Designer’s Design Book by Robin Williams, really created a sense of foundation for the design principles in my mind. I was able to understand the importance of the four different principles of design: contrast, repetition, alignment and proximity. I not only became aware of their individual importance, but also the importance of building them on top of one another to create an eye captivating, well organized visual product.

It was amazing, for me, to see and understand the different ideas that could be portrayed to your audience by simply realigning your designs. It was so obvious to me that a flush right or flush left alignment created a much stronger approach in your design. Also, it amazed me with contrast how it magnified the intensity and appeal a flyer could have to a viewer’s eye, by simply bolding a typeface or creating a heavier rule around the title.

After reading chapters one through six, I now feel that I am beginning to have the ability to be more aware of the well-designed and the not so well-designed pieces of work. Now that I am aware of these principles, I will be able to spot them in my everyday life, just as Robin Williams described in the beginning of her book with the story of the Joshua Tree. Not only will I be more aware of them around me, but I will be able to consciously use them in my own designs to create my desired message and captivate my desired audience.

The following image is a good example of the Principles of Design in a brochure.broschuere_abb_02

Leave a Reply

